Thoughts on Chapters 11, 12, 13

Chapters 11, 12, and 13 were really interesting to read and really helpful with my knowledge of video journalism and how to make a great video story.  Chapter 11 was all about interviews.  I learned a lot about how to do background research and find more information to be better prepared for an interview.  I didn’t realize that to conduct a really effective interview there are so many things to think about.  For example, Kobre talks a lot about planning for an interview and how important researching your subject is for developing good questions to get good answers to use in your story.  The section about what to do if people don’t want to talk to you was particularly helpful for me.  Through past experience of video interviews, I have come across several people that haven’t really wanted to talk to me or didn’t seem to really take me very seriously.  Now that I’ve read some of Kobre’s helpful hints such as not calling it “interview” and how to rephrase your intent or convince the person that they really have an important viewpoint to contribute. 

Chapter 12 was interesting because it was all about writing a script for your final video story.  I honestly had never really thought about writing out an actual script for a video story, mostly because I never thought about narrating my story.  I was always under the impression that the best video stories were created using natural sound and sound from interviews with the question edited out.  Kobre does say natural sound tends to make better stories, however, he mentions that it all depends on what will tell the story the best.  It was also interesting to read about how the editing process can be really involved as well. At first I was thinking that going through shot material and logging the clips with notes about what happens in each of them was too long of a process to have to do before editing.  However, now I can see how logging would be very beneficial in the long run because it will help you to easily find the clips you want to put together to best tell the story. 

Chapter 13 really got more in depth with the editing process. Kobre mentions several video programs and the importance of a hard drive and saving often.  The section that explains different kinds of cuts in video was very beneficial.  As I was reading this part, I was thinking of how often I have seen these techniques in documentaries and even commercials, I had just never known the name for them or the benefits and strategies of using each.  I learned about he common cut, cutting on action, cutting on the rest, cutaways, parallel cutting, match cuts, split edit, and transitions between two clips like cross dissolve. 

I watched the video “Pathology of Errors” produced by Stephanie Saul and Shayla Harris from the New York Times.  This was included in the section talking about the importance of showing contrast of two different points of view.  The video would have been very bland and uninteresting and just simply one person’s account if the video only included Monica Long.  However, the producers included interviews of a patient with a similar case and several doctors that really added interest and depth to the story.

About a1garst

I am a Photojournalism student at Central Michigan University. This blog is used to document my journey through my Online Journalism class.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

